Hispanic Society

Our Upcoming Events:

We welcome you to join us for any of the following events. Email cortney.miller@centre.edu for more information.


Spanish in the Medical Field [CONVOCATION]


September 30, 7:30 p.m. at the Vahlkamp Theatre


Dr. Thomas F. Whayne will talk on his experiences as a cardiologist working with the Spanish speaking community in Kentucky and his professional trips to Latin America. The talk will also focus on how learning Spanish has shaped Dr. Whayne’s research and career as a doctor and professor at the University of Kentucky.



 

“Sin Nombre” Film Screening [CONVOCATION]

October 7, 7:30 pm at the Vahlkamp Theatre, Crounse basement

Join us for a film about two Latino teenagers and their struggle to reach the United States.

WARNING: This film is very graphic, and viewer discretion is advised.



Lunch with Eddy Guiterrez


October 22, 11:20 am in the Evans Lively Room, Old Carnegie


Eddy Guiterrez is the leader of the Nicaraguan Cooperative Movement and Coordinator of the National Coffee Council.  Gutierrez will speak about trade, coffee, and economic development in Nicaragua.  The program will be in Spanish, with translation.   Co-sponsored by CentrePeace, the Hispanic Society, and the Religious Life Office.  Reservations required. The sign up sheet will be in Shayne Jarmin's office and announced the week before.




Halloween Party

October 29, location TBA

Come celebrate with local Hispanic children as we trick-or-treat, bob for apples, and brave a haunted house!



Christmas Party

December 1, first floor of the Warehouse

Celebrate La Navidad with a gift exchange and a visit from Santa!

¡Bienvenidos!

Website designed and maintained by Cortney Miller, cortney.miller@centre.edu.

OFFICERS

President

Cortney Miller

cortney.miller@centre.edu


Vice President

Jenny Umana

jenny.umana@centre.edu


Secretary

Fall 2009

Regina Basconi

regina.basconi@centre.edu

Spring 2010

Brittany Corrigan

brittany.corrigan@centre.edu


Treasurer

Melissa Perry

melissa.perry@centre.edu


Public Relations

Juan Landaverde

juan.landaverde@centre.edu


Faculty Advisors

Genny Ballard

genny.ballard@centre.edu

Nuria Sabate-Llobera

nuria.sabate-llobera@centre.edu